Posted in Assignment, Class

Live tweeting an event

img_7913


The 11th annual Powwow put on by NASA at St.Mary’s University on November 12th in the Pecan Grove. There was food, vendors, music, and performances throughout the event.

This was my first powwow and because I didn’t know what to expect I had to figure out what was going on and what to capture. What went well is that there was plenty of events going on to capture and at various times of the day. What I found challenging was finding the appropriate time to take a picture since this was a cultural event and at times it would have been rude to just take out my camera. Getting in the right position to take a photo or to tweet was also difficult. There also weren’t many names or people announced, it was mostly an announcing of what was going to happen next. So, my tweets were mainly about what was going on rather than people or quotes. What I would’ve done differently is maybe going around to get presenters names or the names of the dancers to present them properly in my posts. But the powwow wasn’t about individual dancers but the event as a whole. Using twitter to announce what was happening was difficult but made me think of what to say or post quickly. The message came across through the tweets especially since I included pictures with every tweet. Having to think quickly and take a photo on the spot enhanced my storytelling and communication skills as I had to constantly look for things to tweet about and how to announce it.

Leave a comment